Throwing back to the good ol’ days

On the last day of January 2014, I was lucky enough to play the Moir Park Disc Golf Course in Minneapolis, Minnesota. This course was installed in 1979 (around the same time I started playing disc golf, although I didn’t play my first REAL disc golf course until 1981). If I had a 175 gram ultimate disc or a classic roc, this would have been the disc of choice to play the course, luckily I had a condor with me – close enough.

Can you imagine back in the day all the conehead jokes back in the day?  Example: "Wow! Nice putt, are you from Remulac or something?"

Can you imagine back in the day all the conehead jokes back in the day?
Example: “Wow! Nice putt, are you from Remulac or something?”

The truck thermometer read -3 Fahrenheit as I rolled into the parking lot. I have played courses with poles, target poles, tone poles, and many variations on the chain basket, but

My condor is about a foot and a half ahead of this snow disturbance - you really have to watch in this powdery snow.

My condor is about a foot and a half ahead of this snow disturbance – you really have to watch in this powdery snow.

this course has CONE BASKETS!! I was pretty excited to play a new (for me) type of target. The cones require putts that are a little more accurate than chains and a softer  touch – I had one putt hit the cone, roll around the basket and finally spit out to the snow. You don’t lose much speed to a cone. The coolest thing about cone baskets is they really show up against the snow, you do not need to search for the basket, it is obvious.

I used a map to try to approximate where the tee pads might be, but the snow was a little deeper here. The course plays around a picnic area and even a volleyball court, but Regis (the dog) and I had the course to ourselves today. I found the course really fun (even it is short by today’s standards) and also enjoyed that nostalgic feeling. I wanted to play another round, but the dog was pretty beat from trudging through snow that was sometimes over his head, so I headed back to the current home base.

Leave a Reply

