Crivaro Disc Golf Course

2014-01-29 07.31.17In the shadow of the state capitol in Des Moines, Iowa there is a disc golf course called Crivaro Park Disc Golf Course. When I played the temperature was 4 degrees Fahrenheit, so I pretty much had the course to myself – but I am pretty sure if it was 10 degrees warmer, I would have been playing with Governor Branstad, as I am playing what should be his

Ice is an awesome playing surface when playing disc golf - you get skips and slides of incredible distance, however, this is not always what you want around the basket.

Ice is an awesome playing surface when playing disc golf – you get skips and slides of incredible distance, however, this is not always what you want around the basket.

home course. The course is 9 holes of fun. There are enough trees to make it interesting, but not enough to make it technical. I have noticed Iowa courses like to have some really long (500+ feet) holes, but this course is all normal length holes. As I have been finding on this trip, my discs skip and slide long distances on the frozen ground and/or ice.

I am actually a fan of these 9 hole

DRIVE INTO THE SUNRISE!!

DRIVE INTO THE SUNRISE!!

park courses – just don’t make me drive through picnic areas, walking paths, parking lots, soccer fields, etc. This park had an awesome DRIVE INTO THE SUNRISE on hole #5, which was the highlight of the course for me. The drive was made even more exciting by the fact that throwing too far would put your disc into a major busy road. The drive itself was pretty straight

The end result of the DRIVE INTO THE SUNRISE, I was pleasantly surprised it turned out so well.

The end result of the DRIVE INTO THE SUNRISE, I was pleasantly surprised it turned out so well.

forward: don’t hit the big trees, don’t throw too far, and throw something overstable because the wind (this is a prairie state) will play havoc with your drive otherwise.

I really enjoyed this course and think it is a very good example of the park course genera. Granted it isn’t a professional caliber course, but I like to think that maybe Iowa is just a little better place because all the state legislators, representatives, and other political types have a nice place to get in a quick round of fun disc golf before they get back to the hard work of running Iowa. Perhaps they can work together better than in other states because Conservative Republicans and Liberal Democrats can both agree that an overstable putter is a great approach disc in high winds…

Leave a Reply

