Lazarre Disc Golf Course, West Monroe, Lousiana

I finally got to play the Lazarre disc golf course in West Monroe, Louisiana on Christmas eve. I have always played the Lazarre High Water disc golf course (the Ouachita River has a say here)…

PleaseDriveSafelyI always enjoy a sense of humor, and the Lazarre course starts right off with the old tree in front of the tee box gag. The twist is that they have added a sign! The encouragement seems to work, the tree is not covered with scars from being hit with discs. This course is not well signed and easy to follow. I had to count on the locals to help me out with course navigation on two occasions. There is evidence of course improvements, these do not

Course improvements are ongoing

Course improvements are ongoing

extend to amenities that would make the course understandable to a person from out of town. Being in a flood plain the course is pretty flat. Much of the course is wide open, but the trees that are there are used to good advantage. There is a pretty little bayou that you get to play a couple of holes along and there are a few holes that are in the woods along the Ouachita River.

It is a pretty little bayou, luckily I didn't need to go looking for my disc in it.

It is a pretty little bayou, luckily I didn’t need to go looking for my disc in it.

Overall, this is a very fun 21 hole golf course, but I think I prefer the less-played, scruffier, and more difficult high water course – so I decided to play a few holes of that course before heading back to Christmas festivities. As I was about to make my approach shot to hole 17 of the high water course I heard a loud voice say words that you normally don’t hear on a disc golf course: “STOP OR I’LL

A beautiful wooded hole along the Ouachita.

A beautiful wooded hole along the Ouachita.

SHOOT!!” I had a pretty good drive, but this wasn’t a birdie putt or anything important like that, so I put down my disc and looked around. On the other side of the levee, two police officers were in the process of arresting someone. It didn’t look like anything I wanted to be involved in so I got out there – I have never wanted to be on the TV show COPS.

Not anybodies idea of a fun way to spend Christmas eve

Not anybodies idea of a fun way to spend Christmas eve – not for the police and certainly not for the guy handcuffed face down on the ground.

Leave a Reply

