Hideaway Park DGC

Hideaway Park is a disc golf course set in the shadow of the Louisiana Tech football stadium (among the famous people who have played there: Terry Bradshaw and Phil Robertson) I tried to play this course back in 2006, but it was muddy and I was still of a desert mindset and didn’t play disc golf when it was wet. The revisit was triumphant! It is a fun course, but it suffers from some serious flaws: e.g. the ubiquitous and dreaded ‘walking path in play’ and a DRIVE ACROSS A PARKING LOT! I was there on December 23rd and the place was deserted, so these weren’t big issues. I could see that on a fottball game day this course may be unplayable.

The course has good signs and is for the most part easy to follow.

The course has good signs and is for the most part easy to follow.

The course is wooded, but in a park. Trees shape your shots, but there is no understory brush to contend with. However, I was still able to make my own challenges for disc finding on this course. On hole #3 I hit a tree and got a bad treeflection, which put my vintage B-17 out in the middle of the lake. It floats and there was a breeze, so I made a point of checking in on my disc while I

After a long journey on the lake, the B-17 makes landfall.

After a long journey on the lake, the B-17 makes landfall.

played the rest of the course and by the time I had finished, the B-17 was safely on shore!

Another weird shot was on hole #5 where my drive went into a drainage culvert under the walking path. If it had gone much further, I probably wouldn’t have found it.

The ultimate weird disc landing spot was on a hole that had two porta-johns guarding the hole (???). I threw a putter on my approach/long birdie putt and it slid under the porta-john. Luckily, the door of the porta-john faced the basket and I was able to make a legal play of the disc position putting from within the porta-john and sinking the putt to save par. This was a fun course, but I think I got lucky playing it without anyone there.

 

A hard to find drive on the HIDEAWAY course!

A hard to find drive on the HIDEAWAY course!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, that is my putter under the porta-john. Apparently there was no other spot in the entire park to put these things than around this hole...

Yes, that is my putter under the porta-john. Apparently there was no other spot in the entire park to put these things than around this hole…

One thought on “Hideaway Park DGC

  1. Pingback: Hideway Park revisited | Martin Disc Golf Club

Leave a Reply

