Ice Storm – day 3

I could have titled this posting: “Walking in a Winter Wonderland”, but then again maybe “Slip Slidin’ Away” is more appropriate…

Last night we got a little more ice last night and today (8 Dec 2013) it warmed up to a balmy 32 degrees F – excellent disc golf weather. The tee pads are so icy that you can’t even begin to move your feet on most of them. The ice coating the ground does give you some excellent skips and slides – I had a shot on #3 slide all the way down the hill – twice – which allowed my to turn a par into a triple bogie. On the number 11 tee pad I slipped and hit a tree next to the pad (I didn’t know that was even possible). I shot a +16 for 18 holes! It is a good thing I was out for fresh air and exercise…

Ice has weighed down the branches on the pine trees...

Ice has weighed down the branches on the pine trees…

The ultra-treacherous #11 tee pad at least gives one hope the ice isn't permanent.

The ultra-treacherous #11 tee pad at least gives one hope the ice isn’t permanent.

A  great approach shot leaves me with an easy drop-in bogie!

A great approach shot leaves me with an easy drop-in bogie!

Leave a Reply

