The Ice Storm Begins!

A golfer goes out for a round of golf, and comes back looking rather dapper. A disc golfer goes out for a round of disc golf (at least on a course in an eastern hardwood forest) and comes back with sticks in their hair, muddy, insect bitten, and bleeding from somewhere. It is part of the charm of our sport. DIsc golf is a scruffy, all conditions, egalitarian form of golf with disc sport ethics. Today I enjoyed the all conditions aspect of the game.

The little icicles added a touch of beauty to the baskets.

The little icicles added a touch of beauty to the baskets.

Today (6 Dec 2013) we are getting a big winter ice storm and I got out for a round on the Harrison Road Course before things really got bad. The tee pads were icy, which pretty much means your throws are arm intensive because you have no footwork option and cannot use your legs for power. I had planned for this and had primarily understable discs in my bag. The wind made me wish I had left a

My drive on #7 gave me an easy drop in birdie today. I did not birdie any of the long holes. My birdie drive on #11 bounced off the basket. Not having power may have increased my accuracy... but the double bogies on #3 and #17 tell a different story.

My drive on #7 gave me an easy drop in birdie today. I did not birdie any of the long holes. My birdie drive on #11 bounced off the basket. Not having power may have increased my accuracy… but the double bogies on #3 and #17 tell a different story.

couple overstable drivers in the bag because they would have come in handy. The chains were frozen stiff on a couple of baskets, which could have rejected my putts (but did not). The chains on all baskets were silent, the ice had damped the chi-ching sound that rewards your accurate putt. Everything had a layer of frozen rain, it was most noticeable when a disc hit deep leaves – it broke through the ice and penetrated into the leaves. Watch your discs!

Overall, it was a jolly outing outing from which I came back looking as dapper as usual but instead of insect bites I had ice forming on my coat, hat, and beard.

2 thoughts on “The Ice Storm Begins!

  1. Oh, snap! That’s the weather system we’ve been dealing with! I got out for my last round earlier this week, and swamped three discs from a local pond before it got WAY TOO COLD. I won’t even go out and shovel the tee pads this time. Boo hoo. It’ll be next Tuesday before the bitter cold lifts. Perhaps I’ll get off my duff then…Stay Warm!

Leave a Reply

