Putting out the welcome mat

During the big November 2013 road trip, I played quite a few rounds at night. Night rounds on unfamiliar courses and in towns I do not know can be an exhilarating experience. I have yet to have a problem, but I still keep my eyes open – I do not want to spend a night in jail (or worse). I wanted to play the Deer Run Park Disc Golf Course in Sidney, NE. As I drove through a really nice neighborhood on my way to the park, I thought this course might not welcome strangers to come in the dead of night and throw plastic. I parked my car a clandestine distance from the park and stealthily crept through the trees to the park to try to figure out how the course was laid out – no one could see me and only the UV light and glow discs would give away my presence.

The camera flash has overpowered the basket light, but you could see it from the tee box

The camera flash has overpowered the basket light, but you could see it from the tee box

And then I saw the light(s)!

Nice tee pads, and the lights made them easy to find!

Nice tee pads, and the lights made them easy to find!

The baskets and tee pads had solar-battery powered lights installed on them! Sidney, Nebraska had laid out the welcome mat for me and the entire cohort of “disc golfers of the night”! I stood up a little straighter and thoroughly enjoyed a night-time round of disc golf in Sidney, Nebraska, a town that has embraced those of us who prefer to throw glow discs.

 

3 thoughts on “Putting out the welcome mat

  1. Glow rounds are my favorite! I help “host” a regular noontime round at my local course (Valmont, In Boulder, CO) every Saturday. What I most anticipate, though, is driving by Interlocken in Broomfield at night, and running into a crew throwing a round or two. The park closes at 11:00 PM, and we have only been rousted once for playing past that time

    We know the baskets well enough that we don’t need to light them all up, but the lighting system you encountered in Sidney is very cool! If I thought we could install something like that without it getting trashed, I’d jump on it.

  2. Pingback: Some course amenities I have seen recently | Martin Disc Golf Club

Leave a Reply

